January 4, 2016 Reorganization Meeting – Council Chambers Millersburg, Pennsylvania

<u>Meeting Call to Order</u> – Mayor Richard Ibberson called to order the Reorganization Meeting of the Millersburg Borough Council at 7:05PM with Cl'ms Boyer, Breach, Dietz, Hoffman, Ibberson, Paden and Wolfe present. Manager McGann and Secretary Jackson were also present. The invocation was given by Cl'm Dietz, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

<u>Presentation of Certificates of Election</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that all Certificates of Election have been received.

<u>Swearing in of Newly Elected Council Members</u> – Secretary Jackson administered the Councilman's Loyalty Oath to Joy E. Breach, John T. Hoffman, Jr., Trudy R. Paden and Katherine J. Wolfe.

<u>Nomination and Election of Council President</u> – Mayor Ibberson conducted the election of Council President, calling for nominations. Cl'm Ibberson nominated Cl'm Dietz for President; the nomination was seconded by Cl'm Paden. There were no other nominations. Motion to close nominations by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Wolfe. Motion carried and nominations were then closed. Mayor Ibberson declared Cl'm Dietz Borough Council President.

The meeting was then turned over to President Dietz.

<u>Nomination and Election of Council Vice-President</u> – President Dietz called for nominations for Council Vice-President. Cl'm Boyer nominated Cl'm Ibberson for the office of Vice-President; the nomination was seconded by Cl'm Paden. There were no other nominations. Motion to close nominations by Cl'm Wolfe, seconded by Cl'm Breach. Motion carried and nominations were then closed. President Dietz declared Cl'm Ibberson Borough Council Vice-President.

<u>Nomination and Election of Council President Pro Tempore</u> – President Dietz called for nominations for Council President Pro Tempore. Cl'm Paden nominated Cl'm Boyer for the office of President Pro Tempore; the nomination was seconded by Cl'm Breach. There were no other nominations. Motion to close nominations by Cl'm Wolfe, seconded by Cl'm Paden. Motion carried and nominations were then closed. President Dietz declared Cl'm Boyer Borough Council President Pro Tempore.

President Dietz called an executive session at 7:15PM for a personnel issue and Manager McGann and Secretary Jackson were excused from Council Chambers. The meeting was called back into regular session at 7:40PM with McGann and Jackson returning to Council Chambers.

<u>Appointment of Solicitor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Paden to appoint Terry Kerwin of Kerwin and Kerwin as Borough Solicitor. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Engineers</u> – Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Paden to appoint Brinjac Engineering for large projects and William Burch and Associates for smaller projects as Borough Engineers. Motion carried. Council reviewed Brinjac's retainer agreement. Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to put Brinjac Engineering on retainer. Motion carried with yes votes from Cl'ms Boyer, Breach, Dietz, Hoffman, Ibberson, Paden and Wolfe.

<u>Appointment of Sewage Enforcement Officer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Paden, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to reappoint Michael Brown as Sewage Enforcement Officer. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Auditor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to appoint Zelenkofske Axelrod as Borough Auditor. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Building Code Administrator</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Hoffman to reappoint Light-Heigel & Associates as the Borough's Building Code Administrator. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management</u> <u>Coordinator</u> – Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to reappoint Sean Grimm and John Brabits as Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator respectively. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Borough Manager</u> – Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Paden to appoint Chris McGann as Borough Manager. Motion carried with one no vote cast by Cl'm Boyer.

<u>Appointment of Secretary-Treasurer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Paden, seconded by Cl'm Breach to appoint Ann Bowman Jackson as Borough Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

Unfinished Business

<u>Braun Settlement Agreement</u> – Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Hoffman to sign the Settlement Agreement and General Release. The settlement check has been cut and signed but is being held while we await further direction from the Borough's attorney.

<u>Police Contract Arbitration Invoice</u> – President Dietz reported that we received an invoice for \$5,002.16 for the neutral arbitrator. Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Breach to pay the invoice for \$5,002.16 to the arbitrator. Motion carried with yes votes from Cl'ms Boyer, Breach, Dietz, Hoffman, Ibberson, Paden and Wolfe. Secretary Jackson will prepare the new contract incorporating the updated information for Solicitor Kerwin's review.

<u>State Street Storm Sewer Project Easement</u> – Cl'm Boyer requested that Manager McGann schedule another meeting between Borough officials, Borough Engineer Anne Anderson and Ms. Lisi and directed Manager McGann to notify all Cl'ms of meeting details once it is scheduled.

<u>Millersburg Reamer & Tool Property</u> – Cl'm Boyer requested Council's authorization to continue to pursue funding options to enable the Borough to purchase this property. Council granted permission.

New Business

<u>Review of Policies</u> – Manager McGann will provide the purchasing policy to all Cl'ms at the Council meeting on January 13^{th} .

<u>Committee Assignments</u> – Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to approve the Committee assignments as follows:

- Economic Development Chairman Dietz, Cl'ms Boyer and Wolfe
- Employee Relations Chairman Wolfe, Cl'ms Dietz and Paden
- Finance Chairman Breach, Cl'ms Ibberson and Wolfe
- Parks & Rec. Chairman Boyer, Cl'ms Paden and Wolfe
- Property Chairman Hoffman, Cl'ms Boyer and Breach
- Public Safety Chairman Ibberson, Cl'ms Breach and Hoffman, Mayor Ibberson
- Streets Chairman Paden, Cl'ms Boyer, Dietz and Hoffman

<u>Organization Representative Assignments</u> – Motion by Cl'm Breach, seconded by Cl'm Paden to assign the following individuals to Committees and otherwise to use a rotation of Cl'ms:

- Millersburg Planning Commission Cl'ms Ibberson and Wolfe
- Millersburg Pool Association Cl'm Boyer
- Millersburg Fire Company Cl'm Ibberson, Mayor Ibberson
- Dauphin County Tax Collection Committee Secretary Jackson
- Upper Dauphin COG
- Millersburg Area Authority
- Millersburg Ferry Boat Association
- Dauphin-Lebanon County Borough Association

Motion carried.

<u>Advertisement of 2016 Meeting Schedule</u> – Motion by Cl'm Wolfe, seconded by Cl'm Paden to advertise the meeting schedule for February through December 2016 as follows:

- Council meetings second Wednesday of the month, beginning at 7:00PM
- Committees meetings fourth Wednesday of the month, beginning at 7:00PM, with the exception of the November meeting which will be held Tuesday, November 22
- Planning Commission meetings second Thursday of the month, beginning at 6:00PM

Motion carried with yes votes from Cl'ms Boyer, Breach, Dietz, Hoffman, Ibberson, Paden and Wolfe.

<u>Dauphin Lebanon County Boroughs Association</u> – President Dietz reminded Cl'ms of the upcoming meeting on January 26^{th} at City Line Diner. Shelley Houck will give a PA legislative update and provide tax options from the fiscal code.

President Dietz announced that the next Council meeting will be on January 13th and the Committee meetings will be on January 27th.

Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Paden to adjourn the meeting at 8:45PM. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Ann Bowman Jackson Borough Secretary